New York State law requires a 24 Hour waiting period before a marriage license becomes valid. This means that you must wait at least a full 24 Hours after the application is filed before the marriage ceremony can be performed. The license is valid for a period of 60 days from the date issued. Couples must apply in person for the license. There are no residencies requirements in the State of New York, there are no special requirements for non US Citizens.
Couples must apply in person. Couples are both required to sign the Affidavit before the office clerk. All of the services provided are on a first come, first serve basis; appointments cannot be made. You will be issued the license on the day you both appear in person and you will take it with you. If you have been divorced, please bring the divorce decree(s) with you. A certified translation for a decree issued in another country may be required.
The Affidavit Application will require you to list your name; current address; city, state, ZIP code and country; country of birth; name and country of birth of your father and mother; Social Security Number (if US Resident); and marital history. When you sign the Affidavit, you are making a sworn statement that there are no legal impediments to the marriage.
Additional requirements include:
– Both parties must be 18 years or older. If you are under 18, please contact the law department for more information. 212-669-3545
– Both parties must show either a Valid Driver’s License with a photograph or a Valid Passport
– No blood test is required.
– A witness is not required.