Washington State law requires a 3-day waiting period before a marriage license becomes valid. This means that you must wait at least three full days after the application is filed before the marriage ceremony can be performed. The license is valid for a period of 60 days from the date issued.
– Both parties must be 18 years or older
– A witness is not required
– If you are divorced, it must be final and filed before applying for the license
– No blood test, identification, birth certificates or divorce papers are required
Applications in person:
Both the groom and bride can visit any of our locations, bring $64.00 USD in cash (prices are subject to change), complete the application, and the license will be issued at that time. The license can not be used, however, until the 3 day waiting period has expired.
Applications by mail:
Applications by mail are processed at the downtown Seattle office only. Send completed and notarized application along with money order or cashiers check made payable to King County Marriage Licenses. We recommend calling the Seattle office 206-296-4021 to verify receipt of the application. The license will not be mailed; it will need to be picked up during regular business hours.
Address: King County Licensing & Regulatory Services Division
King County Administration Building
500 Fourth Ave, Room 403
Seattle, Washington 98104
Office hours: Monday – Friday 8:30am – 4:30pm