Texas requires one form of identification as well as a SSN. The only valid IDs accepted are a driver’s license, United States passport, a certified copy of your birth certificate, a U.S. military ID card, and social security number.
Neither the bride nor the groom has to be a resident of Texas. There is a waiting period in Texas, so make sure you factor this into your plans. The waiting period is 3 days or 72 hours. The only time the waiting period can be waved is for active military personnel. Once you have received a marriage license from the state of Texas it is only valid for 30 days. Also, the license can only be used within the State of Texas.
The state of Texas does not require a medical exam or a blood test. The minimum age to apply for a marriage license is 14. Persons between the age of 14 and 17 must have written parental consent or permission via court order. The parental consent must be given on an official document, and signed in front of a county clerk. After the age of 17 there are no stipulations for marrying in the state of Texas.
Proxy marriages are allowed in Texas. Anyone one of legal age may apply in the stead of a prospective bride or groom who cannot appear before the county clerk. You will need to contact the county clerk’s office to obtain the correct forms for your proxy marriage. Texas does allow prison inmates to marry. Again there is a special form for prisoners who wish to have a proxy marriage.
The only stipulation for remarrying is in the case of a divorce. In Texas there is a 30 day waiting period for getting remarried. Under certain circumstance the 30 day period can be waived. There is a provision for a common law or informal marriages.
Fees range from $41 through $71. As with most states cash is generally required in order to purchase a marriage license.